spynotes ::
  March 30, 2006
Bless the beasts and the children

Today was the first warm day of spring, and the world was exploding with children. It is spring break here in Lake Stepford, so as I drove AJ to the playground to meet up with a couple of his friends, everywhere we looked, there were children. �Wow, Mommy, look at all the kids!� There were kids playing baseball, kids playing tag, kids shooting hoops in driveways. There were kids riding bicycles, scooters, skateboards, and ATVs. There were surly teens lounging on top of slides at less desirable playgrounds. There were kids flying kites on the soccer fields and playing with dogs in their back yards. And then we got to the playground where, apparently, it was required that every child under the age of six within a 3 mile radius must be. And so we were.

We met AJ�s friend D and his little brother N and also W, who was in AJ�s class last year and is in D�s class this year. W�s little brothers came too, so there was quite a pack of boys tearing up and down the platforms, hanging from the swings, building amorphous sand castles, and screaming at the tops of their little boy lungs. By July, this kind of behavior will be giving me a headache. But today, it was a beautiful thing to see and hear.

While AJ napped, I threw caution to the wind and purchased an enormous bag of potting soil and two flats of pansies, as well as a few pots of sweet woodruff for the edge of one bed. I did almost no planting last year because of my teaching schedule, so I�m particularly eager to get going. I�m not particularly fond of pansies � I can take them or leave them � but they are always the first things available at the nursery, so every year I plant them and end up replacing them a few weeks later with other things. But I can never wait until mid April for planting. As soon as it gets warm, I need to be digging holes.

In other news, the taxes are almost done, which means I�ll soon be able to get back to the diss full time. Strangely, I find that I can�t wait.

4 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>