spynotes ::
  April 04, 2006
Would you like to buy a bridge?

I had a really strange and disturbingly realistic dream about my former place of employment this morning right before I woke up. My friend F. had begged me to take a job there, implying that I was the only one who could do it. When I arrived for my first day, I was given a table in a room full of about 50 other people doing telemarketing. I was clearly expected to do the same. I didn�t even have a computer and they wouldn�t let me access the database information, so I was forced to treat all calls like cold calls. There was an empty table a few rows in front of me. A few minutes after I had started calling, an old woman in an electric wheelchair rolled through the door dragging her daughter by the ear. �You can�t just quit your job,� she yelled at her daughter. �You have to work. So sit down and work.� The younger woman woman, sobbing, crawled to her table. The woman in the wheelchair paused in the doorway to make sure her daughter was doing her job, then rolled away. I went into my friend F. (my real former coworker) to say that the job wasn�t what I had expected, that if my first day was just an aberration, I�d see it through because �it was good, honest work� but that it was a waste of their resources and mine. I couldn�t even do my best work without the database info. My strength was getting people excited about the music but how could I do that if I didn�t know anything about them? And then I added, �But maybe it�s too soon to be considering resigning.� F. looked over her shoulder around the corner to see if anyone was listening then looked at me and said under her breath, �it�s not too soon� and then turned away to hide the fact that she was crying. And then I woke up.

I told my husband about the dream this morning. His response: �You are probably the only person in the world who has dreams about telemarketing.�

I�m in the throes of a messy editing project, so I will be keeping things brief this week. But my work has been greatly inspired by Dr. Borogoves, who just successfully defended her dissertation and by soon-to-be-doctor lemmingwho just turned her diss in. Click on over and give them your congratulations! There, but for a few thousand words, go I. And now, to fill in some of those missing words.

2 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>