spynotes ::
  May 03, 2006
Taboo

Dear Tr@der J0e�s:

First of all, let me just thank you for making such sturdy paper bags. With handles, even. I can honestly say that I�ve never given the paper bag a lot of thought until now. I use your bags over and over again for all kinds of things. I haul cast-offs to the women�s shelter store. I take books to the library. I even keep a few in the back of my gas-guzzling van to keep the groceries from other stores, those that are served up in inferior bags, from flying around my car.

Clearly you put some thought into your bags too, because each bag is signed by its makers: �Made with pride by�� So really, I should also be thanking S. Smith and O. Lunar for making such an upstanding product.

But there is a problem. One whole side of the bag is devoted to advertising a Chicago baseball team. Not the right team, mind you. That other team. So while I love your products and even the mechanics of your shopping bags, I hope you understand that I may never be able to shop at your store again. At least until baseball season is over.

Sincerely,

Harriet
Formerly one of your best customers

* * * * *

We are taking AJ to his very first major league game. I am referring of course to the Chicago White Sox. Those of you who have been here a while know what a die-hard White Sox household we are. Some of you may remember that when AJ was small, he thought �White Sox� was a synonym for baseball, and called even Little League teams �The White Sox.� AJ is beyond excited about the trek down to the south side. He could hardly sleep last night, he was so excited. This morning as soon as he woke up, we could hear him singing �Take me out to the ball game.� When he came downstairs, he said, �The game is just too far away for me to be this excited.�

It would be really nice if the Sox win tonight for him. If they lose, though, my husband will blame me for the Trader Joe�s shopping bags.

Because we�re heading to the game, I�ll be missing my beloved yoga class tonight. So to make up for it, I am sharing with you the best yoga website ever. It�s tagline says it all:

Your internet resource for plastic action figures demonstrating Ashtanga yoga

My life is now complete.

Go Sox!

6 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>