spynotes ::
  May 09, 2006
3x3

Scene: Kitchen of the Harriet household at breakfast.

AJ: (comes running in with one of the many Matchb0x cars in his possession). Mommy, look at this one! I�ve never seen this one in a long time (this is his preferred construction for something hyperbolically long term and no amount of grammatical correction from me can dissuade him)!

Harriet: Wow, that�s a cool one.

AJ: I think I should give him a name. I�m going to call him�(thinks for a moment)�Mercury. Do you know why, Mommy?

Harriet: Why?

AJ: Because he�s a fast hot-shot and so is Mercury.

Harriet: That sounds very sensible.

*****

Today was the last day of parent-tot skating � things are already winding down in anticipation of summer � and AJ finally decided to try skating without holding on to something. He did perfectly of course. I worry about his cautiousness. I�ve been trying to push him towards this in part because I was always the kind of child who hurled herself headfirst into everything. He seems so fearful sometimes and I don�t understand it. But he�s having fun. He looks forward to skating every week. And he was so proud of himself today that he even tried skating backwards a little bit. Way to go, AJ!

*****

Random thoughts while reading about American women�s history this afternoon:

* Frances Willard (1839-1898) was an amazing woman and wrote some incredible things. Why did I not know more about her?

� I am disturbed by the resemblance between the phrase �Iron Jawed Angels� and �Slack Jawed Yokels.�

* Not half as disturbed as I am by the Kiki of Montparnasse impression that the woman on the film poster for �Iron Jawed Angels� is doing. I can hear the marketing meeting now.

�I don�t care if Hilary Swank is starring. Unless she�s naked, no one�s going to watch a movie about women as political acitivists.�

�Nudity�That�s a great idea�

�But make it classy. Maybe something French.�

�And we can sit her naked ass on the flag!�

�Brilliant! I�ll have my people call your people!�


2 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>