spynotes ::
  May 17, 2006
This Wild Life

AJ got a Cosmic Rocket for his birthday. It�s a small plastic rocket that you fill with vinegar and baking soda, stick it on its launching pad and it�s supposed to soar off into the stratosphere in a matter of minutes.

Like most such exciting projects, we couldn�t get it to work. We tried putting the baking soda in first then the vinegar. Then the other way around. Finally, we got it together, but it started leaking out the side

On the plus side, it did come with a coke spoon. Seriously. It came with a 1 gram measuring spoon with which to measure the powder. White powder. Never mind that the powder was baking soda. I�m not sure how I feel about this.

Harriet: Are you sure we�re supposed to be giving our son a coke spoon?
Husband: A coke spoon?
AJ: What�s a coke spoon? I thought you used a straw.

I was about to be shocked when I realized he was talking about the beverage. Still, I�m going to be keeping an eye on his mirror. He says he�s using it to show to his betta fish to make him puff out his gills. I�m not so sure.

* * * * *

I saw another coyote today. I was driving home from yoga and he was crossing the parking lot next to AJ�s favorite playground in the middle of suburban development. Children were riding their tricycle up and down the sidewalks, people were walking their dogs. One boy shot hoops across the street. And the coyote climbed into the berm of prairie grasses and sat down. If you weren�t looking for him, you wouldn�t have known he was there.

I�m starting to feel like I�m hallucinating my coyotes. No one else in my family has seen them. But I seem to see them everywhere these days. I like knowing they�re there. Suburbia as hidden wilderness. That is, assuming that they are there. I�ll be scanning the police blotter for tales of small pets mysteriously carried off from back yards.

4 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>