spynotes ::
  May 22, 2006
Maybe we've all heard it all before

I spent the weekend MIA and it was lovely. Yesterday was, if possible, even nicer than Saturday. I went roller blading down by the river � I�m starting to get my sea legs back and am really enjoying it again, even though I worry that I look like I might be trying to appear like the teenager that I�m not. As I�ve said before, my exercise plan generally revolves around running avoidance.

After I got back, we packed AJ in the car and drove through some beautiful back roads to the Chicago Botanical Garden, where AJ ran around and smelled and touched everything. We went through the railroad garden three times and then ended up at a diner for lunch, where AJ ate half a giant hot dog and a huge chocolate shake that was half whipped cream.

The rest of the afternoon was spent out in the yard where I weeded (trips to the Botanic Garden, while enjoyable, always have the effect of making me feel inadequate about my own garden) and AJ played with The Girl Next Door and her brother until we forced them inside for dinner.

Today is AJ�s very last day of preschool. He graduates Wednesday. I find the whole concept of preschool graduation kind of amusing. AJ himself doesn�t seem to be particularly excited about it, although we�re trying to make a small occasion of it � we�ll be taking him out to lunch. And next week, one of the parents of the kids in his class is hosting a party for all the new graduates. Still, AJ�s spent three years at this school � the first time I spent three years at a given school was in college, so I think that in itself is worthy of note.

Also worthy of celebration is the fact that rs536 is coming to visit next month. We�ve been friends for 20 years (yikes!) and I think this is probably the longest period we�ve gone without seeing each other � nearly 5 years. This is mostly my fault, as I haven�t been getting out to visit her. The last time we saw each other was November 2001. AJ was a baby and we were still living in our city loft. We were still feeling the bruises from September 11 and were looking at houses. I seem to remember bringing her out on a trip to see the house we�re now living in. The d�cor was much more governed by Green Bay Packers paraphernalia then. Now it�s more about art that we�re too lazy to hang on the walls.

I'm working at the library this morning, and thus have somebody else's CD collection to ravage. I'm listening to Aimee Mannn's Lost in Space. I love her voice and the songs are lovely. I am especially enamored by "Invisible Ink," which reminds me more of a lied than a rock song in some ways. I'm a sucker for a pretty song.

4 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>