spynotes ::
  May 24, 2006
Pomp and Circumstance

AJ did us proud at his graduation today. While a boombox wailed out an out of tune rendition of "Pomp and Circumstance, he led his class down the aisle (�Valedictorian!� my husband leaned over and whispered to me, our own private joke). He looked so solemn in his paper cap and his puppy dog tie:



(sorry for the blurry photo)

The kids filed in across the construction paper carpet that read �Congratulations Graduates 2006.� One at a time, they came, some, like AJ, slowly and solemnly, some quickly, some shyly, and some looking like employees of the Ministry of Silly Walks.

After they�d all taken their places, the head teacher made a short speech and handed a small American flag to Z., the girl who was seated front and center. The children stood up, put their hands over their hearts and said the Pledge of Allegiance.



(AJ�s on the far left)

After the parents applauded and wiped their eyes (I, for one, forgot to bring Kleenex), they sang us three songs they�d prepared for the occasion: a graduation song, the official song of their preschool, and a song the teachers had written just for them. All the songs, of course, had plenty of hand motions, allowing for a couple of Busby Berkley-like moments and many narrowly averted Three Stooges moments.

After the thunderous applause from the parents, which caused one shy boy to disappear from the back row with his face hidden behind his hands, the diplomas were awarded. AJ was first to receive his.


The diploma itself reads, �This Certifies That AJ Welsch has completed the Preschool course of study and is therefore entitled to this PRESCHOOL DIPLOMA.� It includes the usual place and date and signature lines as well. The official seal consists of a red ribbon with a giant yellow smiley face in the middle. This is AJ�s favorite part.

After the ceremony, during a reception of chocolate chip cookies and pint-sized glasses of lemonade, we were presented with yearbooks that our children made. They include pictures of the children throughout the year, a class photo signed by all the students, art projects for holidays and a short essay each about me and about my husband that AJ wrote himself. These latter two read:

�I love my mommy because I just love her. My mommy�s favorite food is vegetables. My mommy is [insert Harriet�s real age here] years old. My mommy likes to pick me up.�

�I love my daddy because he lets me go to the batting cages. My daddy�s favorite food is vegetables. My daddy is [insert husband�s real age here] years old. My daddy likes to play with me.�

I was stunned that AJ knew our real ages. He remembers everything. Also, clearly our enthusiastic support of vegetables � in hopes of getting AJ to eat some � is working.

AJ�s Grandma D and Aunt G came out for the occasion and we all took him to AJ�s favorite restaurant where AJ entertained us with his general silliness, AJ opened his graduation cards and proclaimed, �Hey, I got lots of dollars!� and we all ate too much. I have declared today a dissertation �free day and will head out to enjoy a few minutes of sunshine before AJ and I head to the yoga studio for more adventures in contortionism.

Here he is, looking like Rob Lowe in St. Elmo�s Fire, our new graduate:

(For those who read frequently, the front row behind him are some I talk about with some regularity. On the far left is The Girl Next Door. Next to her is AJ�s friend N, the one who�s dad has a brain tumor. To AJ�s right is his buddy Z.)

6 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>