spynotes ::
  July 29, 2006
Let him eat cake

AJ is very excited about my birthday. He�s still sorely disappointed that I�m not having a party, but he cheered up once I told him we could blow up some balloons, and he agreed that we could have a party just with the three of us. Mostly, though, he can�t wait for me to open my presents. He and his dad were bustling around my husband�s office today behind closed doors. There was a lot of giggling. There is one present in particular that he thinks I�ll like a lot. He�s been on the verge of spilling the beans several times today but was quickly hushed up by his father.

�Mommy, I can�t wait until tomorrow.�
�Why, AJ?�
�Because it�s so much fun giving presents to people.�

I don�t mean to suggest that AJ was all sweetness and light today. Far from it. He lost television privileges, dessert privileges and a chance to play with The Girl Next Door, all for different bad behaviors in what eventually escalated into a tantrum of mammoth proportions. He was just overtired and hot, and I wanted to cut him some slack, but he just got worse and worse. At bedtime, in what was not one of my finest parental moments, I actually threatened to deny him birthday cake tomorrow because I knew it would work. AJ would never jeopardize his cake-eating options.

[Second entry today. Click back for more birthday mayhem.]

4 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>