spynotes ::
  September 13, 2006
10 things I hope my students don't know about me

1. I�ve never read the textbook all the way through. I�ve tried, but it�s just too tedious.

2. Part of my lecture preparation involves teaching out loud to an imaginary class. It�s kind of embarrassing, but I have to do it because I never remember to look at my notes in class and I remember better from having done it before.

3. Sometimes I do this in front of a mirror. It helps me practice making eye contact. I still need practice.

4. Teaching makes me incredibly nervous. Somehow my nerves seem to translate as energetic and knowledgable, at least according to my teaching reviews from both my students and my faculty observers. But most of the time I feel like a complete dork.

5. Okay, maybe that last part doesn�t have anything to do with teaching. Most of the time I feel like a dork outside the classroom too.

6. I really don�t like 19th century music very much and I don�t think I teach it especially well as a result.

7. I sometimes tell really awful jokes in class because I�ve found that students pay attention when they feel sorry for your inept attempts at humor. When you show real wit, they just expect it of you all the time and fall asleep when you don�t follow through.

8. I answer their emails as soon as I receive them, but I don�t send them until later. I don�t want them to think I�m too attentive because then they expect me to be on call. I want them to sweat a little first and try to figure things out for themselves.

9. I try to present myself as a hardass, but I�m really quite a pushover as long as they�re making an effort.

10. I probably spend more time on their papers than they do.

[Second entry today. Click back to find out what AJ's learning in school.]

8 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>