spynotes ::
  December 23, 2006
holding pattern

There is absolutely nothing to report. It is two days before Christmas and we are fully cocooned. I spent the day cleaning and doing laundry and shopping for groceries. AJ and I watched The Polar Express, which was great fun. AJ kept inching closer to the television. Later he asked whether I thought Santa really had televisions so he could watch children sleeping. I couldn�t tell whether he liked the idea or he was unsettled by the idea of such a total violation of privacy. I was noncommittal in my response. �I don�t know. Maybe.�

AJ had asked for privacy earlier in the day. I had, at his request, turned on the radio station where it is eternally Christmas, the one that make me want to pull out my own eyelashes due to the frequency of airplay of Mariah Carey and Clay Aiken and the excruciating �Soldier�s Silent Night� by Father Ted. But AJ adores all of it. �May I have some privacy, Mommy? In the family room and the kitchen?� (the two rooms open onto one another). �Why?� �I just want to be alone for a while.� This is a sentiment with which I am totally sympathetic. So I ran off to work on the laundry. I couldn�t help peeking, though. AJ was, for a while, lolling on the family room sofa singing along and tossing the throw pillows up in the air. Later he moved to the living room where he continued the same activity, but with more pillows.

After dinner tonight, AJ wanted to ride his scooter in the driveway, never mind that it was black as night. I persuaded him to bring his scooter on a walk with me and we headed up the driveway and down the hill towards the ponds. It was too dark there to see much, even with a flashlight, so we headed up the steep hill on the other side and around the backside of the barn, singing carols all the way. The other day AJ announced, �Mommy, I�d like to be in a choir.� Something about the music of Christmas has captured his imagination.

Tomorrow we finish baking and light our luminaria (a neighborhood-wide event) before heading to the big family party in the evening. Unfortunately, there will be no pictures, seeing as I left my camera in AJ�s class after his Christmas party last Wednesday.

I am likely to be offline for a couple of days. To all who are celebrating it, Merry Christmas.

3 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>