spynotes ::
  December 31, 2006
Eve

It is New Year�s Eve and I don�t make resolutions, so what�s a blogger to do? Here�s a New Year�s meme that�s been making the rounds. Happy New Year to you all.
1. What did you do in 2006 that you�d never done before??This has felt like one of the most static years of my life. The only thing I can think of is that I started taking yoga classes more than once a week for the first time, though. And through that I�ve managed to reclaim some skills I had as a kid in the bendable department. I�m hoping my newly reclaimed flexibility, both mental and physical, will encourage me to have a more adventurous and accomplished 2007.
2. Did you keep your new year�s resolutions, and will you make more for next year??I don�t make resolutions for New Year�s. And the resolutions I do make, I generally keep to myself.
3. Did anyone close to you give birth? Not anyone close by. Just a few I found out about after the fact
4. Did anyone close to you die??Our friend B. (AJ�s friend N.�s dad) who died tragically young of a brain tumor.
5. What countries did you visit??None. In fact, I haven�t left the country since 2000. I�ve become seriously sedentary in my old age, mainly due to being more expensive and less easy to travel since having a kid. I�ve even let my passport expire. My brother has threatened to send me a plane ticket to Thailand for a graduation present, though, so I hope to reactivate the passport soon.
6. What would you like to have in 2007 that you lacked in 2006??My Ph.D., a job and a publication contract.
7. What dates from 2006 will remain etched upon your memory, and why??March 25 � AJ�s fifth birthday and his first real party. August 29, AJ�s first day of kindergarten.
8. What was your biggest achievement of the year??I can�t really say. I feel like I�ve accomplished very little.
9. What was your biggest failure??My lack of accomplishment in pretty much any area of my life.
10. Did you suffer illness or injury??Nothing serious.
11. What was the best thing you bought??Carpet for the family room.
12. Whose behavior merited celebration?? AJ�s, of course. Most of the time.
13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed??Pretty much anyone in public office in D.C.
14. Where did most of your money go??Taxes and insurance. See how boring it is to be a grownup?
15. What did you get really, really, really excited about??AJ starting school; me teaching again.
16. What song will always remind you of 2006. That�s a tough one. Maybe Aimee Mann, �Invisible Ink.� Maybe Mike Doughty, �I Hear the Bells.�
17. Compared to this time last year, are you: a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer??About the same on all counts. Maybe a little poorer this year, though.
18. What do you wish you�d done more of??I wish I�d finished my degree. I should have, but didn�t pull it together.
19. What do you wish you�d done less of??Worrying. Especially about money.
20. How will you be spending Christmas??At home with my little family and my inlaws. Sadly, not with my parents or brother.
21. Did you fall in love in 2006??It was more of a continuation.
22. How many one-night stands??Um, none.
23. What was your favorite TV program??�Veronica Mars.� I mostly watch movies on TCM, though.
24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn�t hate this time last year??I�m not a big hater of people in general. If they bug me, I steer clear.
25. What was the best book you read??Hmm. Tough one. Probably Zadie Smith�s On Beauty is the thing I enjoyed the most. In terms of literary merit, probably Fagles translation of The Oddysey.
26. What was your greatest musical discovery??Frank Zappa (thanks Smed!), Mike Doughty, Chris Smither, Tim Buckley. Actually, having been overwhelmingly mired in female singers for years, this was the year I discovered boys. Also, I learned to appreciate The Boss with The Seeger Sessions (thanks, RS!)
27. What did you want and get??New carpet in the family room; a yoga bolster.
28. What did you want and not get??Hardwood floors. Maybe next year.
29. What was your favorite film of this year?? Thank You for Not Smoking and The Queen were both pretty good. But I don�t see a lot of new movies.
30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you??I turned 39, which is apparently the age of senility, because I have no idea what I did on my birthday.
31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying??Finishing my Ph.D.
32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2006??Recycled. I�m trying to cut back.
33. What kept you sane??Yoga and blogging and AJ and Mr. Spy.
34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most??Barack Obama.
35. What political issue stirred you the most??The War in Iraq.
36. Who did you miss??My grandma and my brother and RS/A>.
37. Who was the best new person you met??
Julia wins this category, although I�ve also enjoyed getting to know my yoga friends. I only see them in class, though. I�ve been doing a good hermit impression for the last several years � case in point: the small party we�re attempting to throw tomorrow is the first in so long I can�t even remember when the last one was � and this year seems to be about breaking out of that a bit.
38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006.?I�m lazier than I think I am.
39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year. ?�Hold on, hold on, hold on� (Neko Case)

5 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>