spynotes ::
  January 05, 2007
Naked

The predicted has happened: I have corrupted my son.

We spent the morning at the ice rink, dodging would-be hockey players of miniature proportions and ill-mannered hockey dads showing off without looking where they were going. I popped in a CD on the way to lunch. All is quiet in the back seat until AJ announces that he plans to order �lovely vanilla� ice cream for dessert, which cracks me up.

�Lovely vanilla?�
�It�s so delicious that it�s lovely.�

I�d have to agree with that. Culver�s Frozen Custard is tough to beat in the vanilla department. Lovely it is.

At home, we realized we were running late and AJ raced upstairs to get dressed where, as usual he began singing. First I hear, �Mommy, mommy, mommy, your bag is never dime. Never!� (AJ�s version of that second �never� sounds so earnest that it almost makes me weep). Then, a few minutes later, I hear, �Da da da da BRAND NEW GIRLFRIEND! Da da da da BRAND NEW GIRLFRIEND! AJ pops his head out of his door before he gets to the naked part. �I really like that song, Mommy!�

�Me too. But AJ, maybe you shouldn�t sing it at school. Okay?�

�Okay. But I�ve just got it stuck in my head.�

Well, better that than �your bag is never dime.� I totally take responsibility for that one. I can�t seem to not sing along with that line. Previously, AJ had been entirely fixated on Nicholas Tremulous� mention of his hero Galileo. Fortunately, he has no idea what the line means.

So here I am at my desk waiting to see what kind of note comes home in AJ�s backpack today. Here�s hoping AJ learns some new tunes in music class.

And if you want this song stuck in your head too (Art Brut�s �Good Weekend,� that is; not Nicholas Tremulous Orchestra�s �You�re famous,� which , alas, I can find no online reference to), you can listen for free here. Click the �releases� button and then click play. It�s the first song up.

4 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>