spynotes ::
  February 28, 2007
The voices low, slow down, bounce around

AJ: I�m glad I�m not a girl.
Harriet: Why?
AJ: Because I don�t have to worry about getting lipstick in my food.

I�ve never really considered that as a problem before. I think there are plenty of reasons to be glad you�re not a girl. And just as many to be glad that you are. But lipstick? It had never occurred to me. Great, one more thing to worry about. The fact that lipstick probably never lasts long enough on my fidgety mouth to transfer to food is irrelevant, of course.

AJ: Why is blood thicker than water?
Harriet: Well, blood has water but lots of other stuff in it that make it goopier.


AJ: I know. Like red and white blood cells and stuff.


Harriet: Yes. But that�s also an expression. Where did you hear it?


AJ: I don�t know. I think I read it in a book. (AJ�s been reading particularly voraciously lately as he tries to finish his 600 minutes of reading for the library�s winter reading challenge).


Harriet: Well, blood means family � people related by blood. The expression means your family ties are stronger than your relationships to other people like friends.


AJ: Even best friends?


Harriet: It�s just an expression. It may not be true for everyone.


AJ: That�s good.

Now I choose to take AJ�s response as a statement about the quality of his friendships and not about how he feels about his family. My interpretation is based on how he tells me he loves me a million times a day, how he throws his arms around my neck and doesn�t want to let go. I will be sad when he stops doing that, although my spine will be somewhat relieved. He�s getting too heavy for me to carry around that way anymore. Still, if he were older and I were more paranoid (I�m not! I swear! Am I? Do you think I am?) I would be stewing it over in my head for a while.

I am sitting in front of the computer in a slip and high heels, taking a break from the tedious and somewhat depressing task of packing for a trip where you have to wear a lot of uncomfortable clothing. The good news is I�ve got outfits to spare. The bad news is my head hurts and I can�t seem to figure out which ones to throw in the suitcase. Ultimately, I think the decision may be based on shoes. I love my black suede mary jane pumps and don�t choose to ruin them by parading through slush across the bridges of Pittsburgh. I may decide to bring only things that I can wear with boots. Already packed, though, are pajamas and yoga clothes, assorted pieces of uncomfortable hosiery and a copy of Michael Chabon�s The Mysteries of Pittsburgh because I have a Binx Bolling-esque love of reading novels about places I am visiting. It is why I lugged an enormous copy of Ulysses on a cycling tour of the west of Ireland (I began it in Dublin). If past conference experiences are any indication, I will probably not actually read it � I tend to zone out in the gym and then vegetate in the bathtub after long days of academic discussion and schmoozing. These are two things I don�t often get to do at home, at least not in the relative peace I desire. Which reminds me: pack the bubble bath.

I leave tomorrow at an hour a friend of mine likes to describe as �at the crack of butt.� I don�t know what my web access will be like on the road, but the laptop�s coming along for the ride, so if you�re really lucky, you�ll get a post or two from me on the road. At this time tomorrow I will be at the conference. I�d probably better put on some pants before then.

5 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>