spynotes ::
  March 06, 2007
Mailbag roundup

Here's a view of a portion of today's inbox. Letters have been abridged and paraphrased for my personal amusement.


Dear Harriet,

I would very much like to publish your paper, �How to Research an Obscure and Forgotten Topic for Fun and Profit� as an article in the Journal of Obscure and Forgotten Topics Loved by Academics. As you know, the journal specializes in articles that focus on obscure and forgotten topics.
As such, your contribution to to the journal would be invaluable. If you would like you can send your article to me as an e-mail attachment.
Best,
Editor,
Journal of Obscure and Forgotten Topics Loved by Academics

Dear Ms. Spy,

I heard from a colleague that you were writing a dissertation about an Obscure and Forgotten Topic. I wrote my masters paper on it years ago and have often thought that someone should write a book on it. Are you turning it into a book? (I hope so!). I will be in Chicago this summer and would love to meet with you.

Sincerely,
Librarian,
Ivy League School


Dear Ms. Spy,

It was a pleasure meeting you at the meeting of the Society for the Research of Obscure and Forgotten Topics. We are most interested in your dissertation topic. I hope you will contact us as soon as it is completed. I will be in touch in a couple of months to see how things are going.

Best wishes,
Editor,
Big Southern University Press

-----

All that I need now is a letter that reads, �Dear Professor Spy: How would you like to teach at my university? I'll pay you well and get your kid into a good school!"

Yeah, that last one would be kind of a long shot. But still, definitely a productive weekend for me.

5 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>