spynotes ::
  March 20, 2007
Migration

I have been running around like a headless chicken all day. I have accomplished much, but feel like I�ve done little, on account of the total lack of writing that has taken place. I have, however, excavated a portion of my desk that is still bowed under from the overload of paper acquired since the conference several weeks ago. I�m starting to see the light of day, though, which is helpful.

AJ and I spent the morning running travel-related errands. A few supplies for the pet-sitters. A T-shirt for me. A beach towel for AJ. Assorted comestibles for my mom and dad. My office is now piled with bags of things that need to be wrapped and packed. I guess that�s tomorrow�s project.

AJ is now very excited that he can count his remaining days of five-ness on the fingers of one hand. It hasn�t felt much like an impending birthday to him yet, thanks to all of the vacation preparations that are taking over. But today we bought cupcakes to take to school on Thursday � we aren�t allowed to actually bake, as that, apparently, violates the state health codes, alas. And we visited the party supply store to get decorating ideas. AJ picked up a Sp0ngeb0b Squ@rep@nts punching bag, the inflateable kind where you fill the base with water and you can knock it down and it pops back up again. It took me 20 minutes to blow it up, but there is now an AJ-sized Sp0ngeb0b standing in the middle of my shower, which makes me giggle anytime I walk through the bathroom.

Meanwhile, the pre-vacation parental phone calls have escalated, with phone calls initiated on both sides to consult on matters of dress and weather and food and the ongoing kitchen renovation. By phone call number three yesterday, we were rolling our eyes, but my mom had just run into a close friend of mine from high school at the supermarket. Said friend lived across the street from me and was in orchestra with me as well. She and I ended up going to college miles from home but only an hour apart, so we used to do the cross country commute together when scheduling permitted. I last saw her the last time I went to my mom and dad�s when, on the way home, we stopped in Indy for a mini-reunion. She has never been to the place my parents live before, but she happened to be there for vacation and happened to be in the produce section when my parents were having some kind of debate about tomatoes. Unfortunately, she is leaving the day we arrive. We will, no doubt, pass them on the highway. This seems, somehow, like a cosmic joke. I am sorry to miss her.

It is time to turn from running errands to just running. The iPod has changed my relationship with running from one of barely grudging politeness to one that is relatively enjoyable. But today is a lot colder and I�m feeling a little whiny about it. Still, I promised to pick AJ up on foot. The boy who whined all fall about being the only kid in his class not to arrive by vehicle is now begging to commute on his own two feet. �It�s too sunny to be inside,� he says. We�ve all got cabin fever. It�s time to head south for a southern spring.

3 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>