spynotes ::
  April 23, 2007
Hubi, frubiends!

AJ is doing much better with antibiotics. Thanks for all the comments and I-told-you-sos.

I am having a little trouble giving AJ the antibiotics because the medicine he is taking is something I'm quite allergic to (amoxicillin). I know it's a good medicine. I myself took it for many years before developing an allergy. No doubt it got me through my own several childhood bouts of strep. But I am finding it difficult to give him something that makes me sick. It seems wrong somehow. But he's responding well. Keeping him home tomorrow will be a trial. By the end of the day today he was bouncing off the walls and tormenting poor Mrs. Stein. She is worn out and snoring on the floor next to my night table, poor feline.

And of course, my tendency to assume illness until proven otherwise is in full force. As soon as we learned that AJ had a contagious disease, Mr. Spy and I both started feeling like our throats were scratchy. I am self-medicating with bourbon, which seems to be working nicely, thank you.

I am a little bummed about my inability to get to campus to read this microfilm. I've been really looking forward to it. I know staring at microfilm doesn't sound so exciting to most people, but it's one of those things that make me feel like a real scholar. Ancient technology! Weird machines that most people don't know how to use! You get to sit in the dark and not talk to anyone for hours at a time! It's a misanthrope's dream!

I did get one moderately productive thing done today, which was that I fixed my computer keyboard. After spending too much time moaning and complaining about yet another trip to the Apple store for repairs, it finally occurred to me to see if I could just order the part. And so I could. For a total of eight dollars including shipping, I am now the proud owner of a shiny new "u" key. It makes me want to type lots of U words. Ukulele.
Pere Ubu.
Ululate.
Uba-Tuba (the variety of granite in our former kitchen).
AJ would like to contribute Umbrella and Underwear.
Or perhaps I should just start writing in Ubbi Dubbi.

Ubuntubil tubomuborrobow, guboodnubight, frubiends.

[Third entry today. Or should I say, thubird ubentruby?]

3 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>