spynotes ::
  May 21, 2007
Questions I did not expect to have to field today from AJ, age 6, or, reasons why I am having second thoughts about my chosen career in the humanities.

[This is the last week I'll be cross-posting here. Please bookmark my new address: spynotes.wordpress.com]

If you didn't have a skeleton, would you be alive?
My off-the-cuff response: Your internal organs would be squished because there's be nothing to keep your outsides off of them. But some living creatures don't have skeletons. Let's look at how they're made.

How come an earthquake starts in one place and goes somewhere else?
AJ figured this one out himself -- transfer of momentum. He learned about this from watching Bill Nye Science Guy last year. But we looked up earthquakes at the Discovery channel site and tried their earthquake simulator, which allows you to choose building sites and construction methods and test how they fare in earthquakes of different levels of severity.

How come B. can't come over right now?
He's on the school bus.

How does a hot air balloon float?
I helped AJ figure this one out himself by asking him why his bath toys float in water. He knows this is because air weighs less than water and his bath toys are full of air. You could practically see the lightbulb go off over his head as he shouted, "Because hot air is lighter than regular air!"

Do you need a lot of water because water is made of oxygen and you need oxygen?
Um, maybe.

Why am I a boy?
Uh...

What if you weren't my mom?
I don't even want to think about it.

[Second entry today. Click back for an aural interpretation of the part of my day that did not involve interrogation.]


2 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>