spynotes ::
  September 23, 2003
It's not easy being green.

Warning to readers: Today�s entry is governed by an academic mindset governed by cotton-headed coldiness. This combination does not, in all likelihood, promote coherent writing. My apologies to all. I hope to be back in the game soon.

I�ve been reading up on the Progressive era for my diss, as I think I mentioned last week. It�s a very odd time and some of the ventures seem a little bizarre from today�s standpoint, but at the same time explain a lot about current cultural policy. At the moment I�m trying to look at some of the ways in which women used the Progressive movement to further the cause of feminism. While I find the subject interesting, so far I�ve been having trouble staying awake through some of the reading I need to slog through. And I don�t think my cold is fully responsible.

I am trying to get into edit mode. I�m supposed to be meeting with my thesis advisor, who�s in Europe for the term, in Miami next week. It�s not as glamorous as it sounds. I�m heading to the Society for Ethnomusicology conference in the Sunshine State, which I don�t believe I�ve set foot in since a trip to Disneyworld at the age of 9. My latest chapter, which I�d like to discuss, is a mess. I�d like to get it in better shape before making someone else read it.

My northerner self has been stressing about everything related to the conference. What does one wear in Miami in September? What is the appropriate dress for a salsa-dance party made up of academics who may or may not be trying to out-hip each other? Can one wear fishnets to an academic meeting? When I�m stressed about other things, focusing on my wardrobe seems to be an effort to gain control. And since I haven�t worn most of my �work� clothes since before I had AJ, there�s a lot to gain control of.

What I�m really stressed about is leaving AJ for 4 days. It�s not that I don�t think his dad can handle it, but in his entire life we have not spent a single night apart. I�m wondering if I can handle it. The fact that AJ�s been sick and needy this week is not helping me feel like a better mom.

But there�s also a part of me that is totally excited to ditch the daily housewifely grind and go somewhere I�ve never been without having to worry about everyone else for a few days.

I�ve been scanning the schedule of papers to figure out what to attend and was quite disappointed to find the titles less ridiculous than usual this year. Generally there are at least half a dozen papers whose titles follow the formula [please note scare quotes and obligatory colon], �Performing �Identity� and the Identity of �Performance�: Towards a Theory of Self.� I haven�t even found one this year. A few tantalizing titles:

� �Oh How I Miss That Old Gang of Mine�: Memory and Homoeroticism in Barbershop Performance?� [There do seem to be a lot of papers featuring question marks for no apparent reason this year]

� The Boom from the Canon: Constructing History on the Hip-Hop Dance-Floor�

� �It�s Not Easy Being Green: Re: Learning Irish Music in Japan�

But mostly there are a lot of sessions on Cuban music, which I love, and field work in today�s Middle East, which should be interesting. Perhaps I�ll actually enjoy it this year. I am generally not a big fan of conferences. I need to get over it and look like I�m having a good time. After all, some of these people might be in a position to hire me next year.

My mental faculties are fading fast. I�ll try again tomorrow.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>