spynotes ::
  February 06, 2005
Whose woods

I cannot seem to escape the grips of this flu. It�s been over a week and I am still hacking like an emphysemic and requiring an afternoon nap to rest my red, raw eyes. AJ is similarly afflicted, so we banded together on a quest to leave the house this morning. We played a couple of wheezy games of hockey in the driveway where one of us kept forgetting which goal was his but nevertheless cheered vociferously whenever a goal was scored by either party. We then strolled down to the duck pond where we were met by hundreds of our feathered friends. Unlike Punxatawny Phil, the ducks seem to be under the illusion that spring is imminent. The males were putting on a fine display. Their mating dance features a kind of undulating motion of the body � a dip of the head followed by an arched back and finally a shake of tail feathers � and is accompanied by an airy whistle. It�s a sound I only hear them make in the spring. AJ and I sat on some large rocks and tossed sticks in the water while we watched the ducks milling around, showing off their fine feathers and quacking noisily.

Yesterday was beautiful and spring-like � sunny and in the 50s. We, unfortunately, had to spend most of the day indoors at a party celebrating the birthday of one niece and the confirmation of her older sister. AJ was thrilled to be there, however, as there was not one but two chocolate cakes to be sampled, along with many other strange and exotic foods that looked enticing since they weren�t being offered at home.

Today is still mild, but rather depressingly grey and damp. I am taking it as a sign that I need to get to work. I need to finish my paper and study for a Latin exam that I have to take on Thursday. And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>