spynotes ::
  March 29, 2005
Short and sweet

Yesterday ended beautifully at the home of my friends L. and M. and their two kids. They had invited my friend H. and I over for dinner � a weeknight treat. L. made a feast � homemade pizzas with spinach, ricotta and gruyere; roasted vegetable soup, roast chicken with sun-dried tomatoes and artichoke hearts and for dessert, a pumpkin tart smothered in whipped cream. Wine was plentiful (and much appreciated) and coffee too, to sober me up for the trek home. I spent 5-1/2 hours commuting yesterday. This is a little insane. Fortunately I only need to do this 19 more times.

AJ has been very glad to have me around to day. It�s a beautiful, warm day � not just relatively warm, but really warm. AJ took my hand and showed me all the crocuses in the yard, which have finally blossomed; and I spotted sprouts of delphiniums, cherry bells, lilies and tulips. The sedums are coming up too. Still no sign of the little blue flowers that usually carpet the area around the sugar maple. Perhaps the snow smothered them this year. They usually precede the crocuses. I raked and pruned while AJ ran bases and hit balls off his tee.

And now, I must go finalize the first assignment for my class.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>