spynotes ::
  November 12, 2005
I'm strong to the finich

The ring is found (if you don�t know what I am talking about, click back one). My husband got up early and hauled the metal detector out to the yard. He must have been out there for close to two hours, first sweeping the metal detector over the entire lawn and then crawling around on his hands and knees, but to no avail. He was getting discouraged and was considering burning the leaves and sifting through the ashes. I took over for a while and cranked up the sensitivity level of the metal detector. It picked up everything. I found a couple of metal pins buried in the yard we didn�t know were there, some nails, a shred of tinfoil. I started having new respect for those forensics experts who have to sweep a crime scene. I had a mantra running through my head: �needle in a haystack, needle in a haystack, needle in a haystack.� But after about 20 minutes, the machine suddenly started beeping wildly. And there it was, lying on the ground, as if nothing had happened. I can�t believe we found it. It�s now lying in the cigar box on my husband�s dresser where he keeps important things like photos and train fare cards, awaiting a trip to the jewelers for resizing when I go to get my grandmother�s pearl necklace restrung.

AJ spent the early part of the morning watching us and moping around. When he heard The Girl Next Door (TGND) outside on her swingset, his face lit up, so forged a path through the woods between our houses and invited her over to play. They ran up and down and around the house, turning everything upside down and had a marvelous time. We walked her home and AJ stayed to play for a few minutes before coming home to mostly ignore his lunch. I think we may actually get a nap out of him today.

I may be napping too. I had another insomniac bout last night, tossing and turning until it was nearly light, at which point I dreamed I was in the choir loft for a Christmas service at a church I occasionally sing at. When I went up to sing my solo, I suddenly found my mouth was stuffed with spinach. I had no idea what to do. Fortunately, Mrs. Stein woke me up before I had a chance to find out what happened. I�m sure it wasn�t pretty. But, at least I know what will NOT be on the dinner menu tonight.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>