spynotes ::
  May 06, 2004
Muffaletta

I really don�t have the time for a second post today, but I couldn�t help it because I just received a notice about this CD which has such a good title that I wish I�d thought of it myself. I think I may have to go out and buy a few copies for myself and any of the next few baby showers I may have to attend. If they�re going to make me play stupid baby games, then I can at least discuss the Axis of Evil.

And while we�re on the subject of good titles, I was more entertained than I should be by this incredibly pedestrian title on PBS last night: �Sandwiches that you will like.� I�m not sure why this made me giggle for at least five minutes � perhaps the extra glass of wine at dinner was a contributing factor. But it has something to do with the �that.� It makes the whole thing sound so un-titular. It sounds more like a list scribbled on the back of a cocktail napkin:

Sandwiches that you will like
Hot pastrami on rye
Croque Monsieur
Peanut Butter and grape jelly
Vegetarian Reuben
Gyros

So what are the sandwiches that you like?

And finally, I leave you with what is possibly the worst piece of academic mumbo-jumbo I�ve ever encountered. Trust me when I say that this is an abstract from a real journal. I can provide references as required, but it seems in the best interest of the author and journal to publish this fragment anonymously. A gold star to the first person who can tell me what this means. Bonus points if you can tie it into the sandwich thing.

This essay seeks to respond to recent claims concerning the radical and decisive transformation of media, technology and communications in contemporary times, by proposing a theory of obsessional writing in which the latter manifests itself in terms of an originary technicity. Drawing on psychoanalysis, deconstruction, and the writings of Sartre and Genet, the essay argues that the originary technicity of obsessional writing entails a ceaseless reinvention without origin, producing variants and mutations (tele-effects) in the realms of writing, media and technology, which in turn force us to rethink conceptions of the 'newness' of contemporary forms of communication and archivization.

[This is the second post of the day.]

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>