spynotes ::
  September 09, 2004
Coda

I�m feeling a little melancholy this evening. Part of it is pure exhaustion. Part of it is due to having finally taken apart AJ�s crib, which feels like more of a statement about our procreation plans than it actually is (plans? What plans?). And part of it is because AJ�s preschool orientation is tomorrow. I�m looking forward to meeting his new teachers and checking the classroom out. I asked AJ what he was most excited about and he said, �Meeting my new kids.� I haven�t been very good about playdates. The poor guy is not only an only child but he�s the progeny of semi-hermits.

AJ came up with a new game. He hands a book each to myself and my husband and asks us to read them simultaneously. Sometimes it�s a race to the finish. Sometimes it�s to see who can read the most slowly. But mostly the interest seems to be in the meshing of words in odd ways, the interlacing of unrelated syntaxes creating new and strange structures. Charles Ives would be proud.

[Second entry today � click back for an explanation of my current state of exhaustion]

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>