spynotes ::
  September 12, 2004
This one's going out to...

GWB, JK, North Korea, terrorists of all stripes and anyone else who deserves it.

This song was written by Sheldon Harnick in 1958 and is the perfect example of the adage "plus que �a change, plus que c'est la m�me chose." I grew up with a lot of what a friend of mine calls "hippie music," by which he means Pete Seeger, Joan Baez, Peter Paul and Mary, and the Hair cast album. We also listened to a lot of Kingston trio albums on family car trips and this was one of our favorites. Thanks to this morning's headlines, I had this one stuck on auto-repeat in my head during my morning run, so I thought I'd share.

THE MERRY MINUET

They're rioting in Africa.
They're starving in Spain.
There's hurricanes in Florida.
And Texas needs rain.

The whole world is festering
With unhappy souls:
The French hate the Germans,
The Germans hate the Poles,
Italians hate Yugoslavs,
South Africans hate the Dutch,
And I don't like Anybody very much.

But we can be tranquil and thankful and proud,
For man's been endowed with a mushroom-shaped cloud.
And we know for certain that some lucky day
Someone will set the spark off
And we will all be blown away.

They're rioting in Africa.
There's strife in Iran.
What nature doesn't do to us
Will be done by our fellow Man.

-- Sheldon Harnick @1958

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>