spynotes ::
  October 21, 2004
Swing shift

I just returned from two lovely walks marred only by the intervening playgroup, which I found especially aggravating today. It was probably my own fault for being stand-offish. But the gossipy and bland nature of the conversation was wearing and I didn�t have the patience for small talk for the sake of appearing social. I opted instead for chaperoning the kids on the playground, which involved a lot of slide catching, swing pushing (apparently, I have yet to master the art of the underdog, as my technique was repeatedly called into question), and spinning.

I was actually surprised to discover that the term �underdog� is still used to describe a push where the pusher runs underneath the swing. I always associated the word with the cartoon Underdog, which predated me by a number of years but was still airing on Saturday mornings when I was a kid. Perhaps the Cartoon Network has perpetuated the term�s use, or perhaps the term has either superseded its cartoon origins (which were often enacted on the playground by the pusher imitating Underdog as he/she ran under the swing) or its origins lie elsewhere.

Although, as far as I know, no one has patented the underdog maneuver, a boy has, in fact, applied for a patent for another swing technique. Hmm. Perhaps I should convince AJ to patent his method for running up the slide. Then I could use my playground duty hours for the more lucrative business of collecting royalties. First one up the slide gets to make a donation to AJ�s college fund!

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>