spynotes ::
  November 03, 2004
e pluribus unum

Words fail me today. If this is the result of the democratic process, so be it. But I may be looking forward to a lifetime of alienation in my own country and that makes me sad. Although I was not totally convinced Kerry was the man for the job, Bush has enacted policies that violate just about everything I hold dear. The presidential election is not the worst of it. The right wing has emphatically taken over both halves of congress. Gay marriage has been effectively banned by 1/4 of the country. And most dangerous at all, at a time when intolerance appears once again to have become public policy, several Supreme Court justice positions will be open. Still, some good could come out of all of this. Hopefully the Democratic party will take a lesson from it. And the overwhelming voter turnout was encouraging. More people seemed more passionate about this election than any in my memory. I hope those who feel as I do about the results will endeavor to maintain that passion and use it to work towards holding the President accountable for ALL of us.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>