spynotes ::
  November 09, 2004
Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow

Yesterday.

It was a strange day. I finally went to the doctor, half expecting a diagnosis of tuberculosis. I came home no more enlightened as to the source of the cough that quite literally brings me to my knees at times, but with four new prescriptions to attempt to combat it. And they actually seem to be helping. Most helpful is the wonderful elixir of cough syrup with codeine. I�m also being pumped full of steroids (both inhaled and swallowed) and antibiotics.

I arrived home from the doctor (by way of the pharmacy) and found that I had received a significant financial windfall with no strings attached. This was highly unexpected and extremely well timed, heading into the Christmas season. I�m now feeling less guilty about the amount of money this conference is costing us.

Ah, yes, the conference. I�m sure you�re all tired of hearing about it, and you�re in luck, because by this time next week, it will all be over.

The copies are made, the travel plans have been confirmed. I leave tomorrow after picking AJ up from school. The whole trip door-to-door should take me about 10 hours. AJ is having a hard time with my departure. He doesn�t know four days from four years. Everything that has already happened is �yesterday.� �Mommy, remember when yesterday we went to Z�s house and played with the ball?� (that was three months ago). �Mommy, remember when yesterday I threw up on your pants on the rug because I was sick and you cleaned it up?� (that was a month ago). �Mommy, remember when we had Cheerio�s for breakfast and you looked through them at me?� (that was this morning).

I am bringing pictures and will call often. I have given AJ my cell phone number and lots of our favorite stories and songs. We will both be sad.

But there is much to look forward too as well. When I start getting too stressed about my presentation or jobs or schmoozing, I start thinking about the fact that I�ll have a hotel room all to myself (I don�t believe I�ve ever done that at a non-fleabag hotel before). I�ll be seeing many old friends at the conference. I�ll be doing some fine dining on someone else�s expense account. And I�ll be seeing a friend from college and former roommate, whom I haven�t seen in over a decade. And in a few short days, I�ll be home to play with AJ again.

I am not sure what my posting abilities will be on the road. If you don�t hear from me, I�ll probably return on Monday with an entry.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>