spynotes ::
  December 27, 2004
Tsunami

I am spent. There is much to tell, but not much time to type. Even as I grab this quick moment, AJ is jumping up and down trying to get me to come play with some of his new toys. Santa was very good to him this year.

The first round of guests, my parents, left this morning. The second arrived around 10:30 this morning, although he�s not spending the night. The next overnight guest arrives tomorrow and it looks like non-stop laundry for me between now and then.

Mostly, though, I am unable to do much. My brother and his family are supposed to be in Sri Lanka on vacation. But they hadn�t left before the quake hit. As I watch the death tolls climb, I feel incredibly grateful that his trip was delayed, incredibly grateful for our general good fortune. I wonder what has happened to my college friend who, last I knew, was living in Colombo.

AJ has been watching us watching the news. He doesn�t understand what is going on. He sees the cars washing away in the rising waters and laughs because it�s funny when things fall down. He plays tsunami in the bathtub.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>