spynotes ::
  January 15, 2005
School Daze

The time of year for the annual agonizing about intervention or non-intervention in AJ�s academic career has arrived: pre-school registration is due at the end of the month. This year�s agony is a little worse than last year�s though. Last year I was mainly concerned that I had not adequately weighed our options before sticking AJ in the closest preschool to home. But this year we have another decision to make � should we enroll AJ in kindergarten a year early?

I�ve been having trouble finding help with this decision. For one thing, you don�t want to go up to just anyone you know and say, �Hey, I think my kid�s smarter than your average kid. Whom do I talk to?� I don�t want to sound like I�m bragging, nor do I want anyone to feel threatened. But the fact is that at age 3, AJ has already mastered the skills needed for completion of the first grade in our district. I�m sure he�d be fine with another year of preschool, but then what? I don�t want him to be so bored that he bails on school. He�ll be nearly 4 � when school starts, so it�s not too insanely early. But he still takes a nap and carries a blankie (although not to school). He�s still my baby!

I�ll be meeting with someone from the public schools later this month, but I�m not expecting much. In anticipation, I�m trying to research other options. Mostly area Montessori schools are looking like the best bet, but most of them only go through kindergarten. I�m really only postponing the �then what?� We need a plan. I wish I could track down some other area parents in this situation without sounding like I�m just showing off. It�s tricky business. I�m even squeamish about writing about this here, but it�s what�s on my mind today, so voil�, an entry. I have no idea what I should be doing.

I would be less concerned about all this if I thought the public schools were doing anything to accommodate academically talented kids. But there is no program for such children before the third grade here, and even that one is currently in serious jeopardy due to district funding cuts.

I don�t want to push AJ too much, but I don�t want him to be squelched or deadened. I just want him to be able to take his natural curiosity and run with it � research the things he�s interested in, find support and balance for his interests.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>