spynotes ::
  January 18, 2005
Quick, quicks, quicked

GRAMMAR FOR THREE-YEAR-OLDS

Rule No. 27: Any adjective may become a verb with very little effort. For example:

Harriet: AJ, it�s time for breakfast!
AJ: I�m coming
(five minutes go by)
Harriet: AJ? Where are you?
AJ: I�m coming.
Harriet: Please hurry up. Quick, quick!
AJ: I�m quicking, I�m quicking!

� � � � �

After AJ had �quicked� down to breakfast and gotten dressed, we headed to the library where we spent most of the morning. He stopped to visit with one of his favorite librarians, played on the computers, found some books about math and made a penguin out of black construction paper and two paper plates at the craft table. All in all it was a productive morning for AJ. I was feeling a little less productive, until I got home and picked up my e-mail and discovered to my shock and surprise that I had passed the German exam I took last fall. Alas, I must still retake Latin, but I don�t think that will be so bad. The main reason I had trouble with it, I think, is that it was the second one I took that day and my brain was translated out. I am thrilled to be able to check one of them off my list. Only one more to go! Additionally, I received some very helpful comments on a chapter I had sent round to be read by a couple of friends (Thanks, M!), so without any work time at all, I am already feeling like I�ve accomplished something. I will get to work with renewed vigor shortly, although I have less than an hour to do so, as my brother-in-law will be here in an hour to watch AJ while my husband and I head downtown to see Measure for Measure at Shakespeare Rep. I�m looking forward to an evening out, although too cold to enjoy dressing up. I think I�ll be wearing several layers under my new suit as armor against the weather. Brrrrr.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>