spynotes ::
  April 20, 2005
Mercy's eyes are blue

As Manduca predicted, the teaching review, was, in fact, extremely helpful. Downright cathartic, actually. It�s amazing how much a little feedback can do � we get so little in this whole process. I was pleased to learn that while I may feel like a hyperactive freak in the classroom, I apparently come off as �poised and in control� if �very animated� (which was meant as a good thing). My observer also had good things to say about how I presented material and answered questions. The negatives were all in areas in which I feel the most weak. There were no surprises, and he had some very good ideas for how I might get out of the lecture/listener pattern I seem to have fallen into and improve the classroom discourse (did I just use the word �discourse� without arm twisting? I�ve been in academia too long). The best thing about it all, though, was that my instincts were confirmed. The thing that has been most maddening about teaching is my total lack of awareness of what I do when I�m standing in front of the classroom. In some ways, this is a good thing. It happens because I get excited about what I�m talking about. But sometimes it�s just nerves and my control freaky tendency to not let anyone else take over. So it�s nice to know that what feels right and seems right is pedagogically sound, even if I don�t yet manage to pull it off all of the time.

Today�s class was great. The organist doing our lecture demonstration called to confirm, thus saving me from hours of anxiety, and showed up early and was wonderful. He got into way too much detail for an intro class (I�ve never met an organist yet who didn�t go off on a rant about some obscure tuning system or another), but it�s because he was excited about what he does and his enthusiasm was infectious. Someone asked how one went about tuning an organ and he actually sprinted up to the loft and waved some formidable-looking tools over the edge in an almost menacing manner. He also played the Bach C-Minor prelude and a few other things. It was wonderful. It was also, however, a little long and I am now a full class behind. After talking with my observer, I think I am determined to cut out some material. While I�m following more or less what is usually covered in this course, I�m just not comfortable with the pace. Next time I teach a course like this, I�d like to focus on one piece a day and do it in detail. Since next Monday�s lecture is already written (being the one I was going to do today), I think I�ll spend some time this weekend thinking about what to cut out so I can enjoy what we talk about. That and writing the quiz they need to take on Monday. And Watching my new DVD of Don Giovanni.

Besides a good school day, I got some other good news. K. (my best friend from elementary school) and her husband M. who after going through fertility treatments from hell, finally deciding to adopt and waiting months and months for news finally got a picture of their little girl-to-be today and should be heading to China within two months to pick her up. She should be home with them in time for her first birthday. I don�t think I could possibly be happier to see two people become parents. That�s going to be one lucky baby.

[Second entry today]

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>