spynotes ::
  April 25, 2005
100% cat free entry

Today my students get their first quiz. There is one student in the class who has failed to show up for most classes and has neglected to turn in most homework. I had assumed she was dropping the class but hadn�t gotten around to formalizing it. But when I logged on to the class website yesterday, I could see she�d been prowling around all weekend. This should be interesting.

Good quizzes are hard to write. It�s hard to find questions that are specific enough but not so specific that if someone is blanking on a term that there is no way to talk their way around it. I was the kind of person who would forget composers� names under pressure but would work my way around it by listing all of their important works and analyzing the music. I like there to be a couple of options like that in case someone is forgetful like me. It�s also hard to write questions in such a way that it�s clear what you�re asking for but you�re not totally giving away the answer. I hope I accomplished all these things. I feel like I�m being tested too.

I feel like I turned over a new leaf this weekend. I put in about half the amount of time on the course than I usually do � a much more reasonable amount of time�and yet feel no less prepared. And I�m having more fun. I hope this works in class. I was reminded last week that it may not be as important to communicate historical detail as it is to communicate my personal convictions over what I do. Why I think sonata form is important, for example, may ultimately help them remember more than all the sonata examples in the world. Still, a little P.D.Q. Bach won�t hurt.

I'm even boring myself. I'll shut up now.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>