spynotes ::
  May 04, 2005
Half-diminished seventh [this title's for you, M.]

Six things that happened to me at school today

1. Not one but two students came to my office hours, making me feel useful at last.
2. I was greeted by a half-dead giant cockroach belly-up in the middle of my office floor with wiggling legs. I swept him up with a stray piece of paper and deposited him in the wastebasket down the hall (because God forbid the department spring for something like a wastebasket in the grad student office), legs still wiggling.
3. I received a completely unexpected compliment on my teaching from a faculty member I barely know and whom I didn�t know was paying attention. In fact, when he offered it, I was so taken aback that I didn�t even realize he was talking to me at first.
4. I got to play Bugs Bunny in class, but my students laughed more at my lame jokes than at the cartoon.
5. I tried out a technique for starting discussion suggested by my teaching observer and it worked fantastically well.
6. I ended the class by talking about coitus interuptus. Who says opera isn�t sexy? (Tristan und Isolde, Act II)

[Second entry today. Click back for more academic narcissism]

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>