spynotes ::
  May 08, 2005
M is for the million things she gave me

It not yet 8 and I�m already having a wonderful Mother�s Day. I offer as evidence the fact that I am typing an entry before 8 a.m. (and note, I even had time to look up links!)�AJ is downstairs playing with his dad.

AJ woke me at his usual 6:30, exploding through the door of my room with his entourage of favorite stuffed toys, sleepy-eyed and wild-haired. He is in need of a haircut and his crazy double-swirl of cowlicks on the backside of the crown of his head has given him a baby Mohawk, which makes him look like a Kewpie doll (minus the simpering face).

The boys brought me homemade cards and breakfast in bed on a tray with a cloth napkin and the fancy china. I am still here sipping genteelly and reading the Sunday Times. AJ read me a story and ate strawberries out of my bowl before descending to his place of exile in front of the TV in the family room. I was also presented with gifts, which AJ opened for me. The first was a new Freddy Cole CD. The second was the third season of my one true television addiction (and pretty much the only thing I watch at all these days other than the occasional movie), The Gilmore Girls on DVD. This was an extreme indulgence that I will thoroughly enjoy but would never have bought for myself � the perfect kind of present.

I hope all of the other moms out there are having lovely days with their families too!

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>