spynotes ::
  May 23, 2005
Tweedledum and Tweedledee resolved to have a battle

Only one more lecture to go. I'm not sure how I feel about that. On the one hand, I can't wait to have some time to play with AJ, watch stupid movies on TCM after AJ goes to bed, dig holes in my garden, bike long distances and, yes, even finish the dissertation (I am resolved to say finish instead of work on. I can no longer tolerate the open-ended term. That's a good thing, I think.). On the other, I've loved the structure that has forced me to think hard about why it is I do what I do, about how to communicate what's really cool about this stuff we call Western Art Music. Most of all, I�ve loved having students to talk to and listen to. They have a totally different perspective and they frequently have interesting things to say. They make me think and they make me work hard. I�m going to miss all of those things.

That said, today�s class was frustrating in the way teaching any non-major class during B.A. paper week is frustrating. The students are tired, burnt-out and frequently absent. There were 10 people missing out of 23 today. Quite depressing (although it makes it a no-brainer to make sure there�s a question from today's lecture on the final). And those who were there started out glazed over. Eventually, though, I got frustrated and asked them whether they were tired, confused, or just hadn't gotten to the work. It turned out the problem was the middle one and I was able to address it. The advantage of working at a school like this one which has an exceptional pool of intellect among the undergraduate population, is that you get students who can think circles around the material in all kinds of interesting ways. The disadvantage is that when they get beyond their comfort zone (and 12-tone music seems to be well outside of that particular area), they clam up.

I�m holding a review session for them Wednesday afternoon and I'm trying to decide whether it's a good or bad idea to run it like a game show. I'm thinking of having them write questions on 3x5 cards when they come in and then dividing them into teams. I'd be Alex Trebek and would help out with answers as needed. Music should be fun. But I�m not sure if the format would freak them out or help them relax.

If you are still reading, chances are you are an academic. If so, you might enjoy this very funny article about the perils of being a graduate student teacher.

And for those who still haven't left yet, take heart! There will in all likelihood be a much more interesting entry later. That's because it will be about AJ and his last day of school and first ever report card. But as I have not yet received the full story, that will have to wait.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>