spynotes ::
  June 17, 2005
Bittersweet

Scene 1: Parking lot of a large chain bookstore. Harriet is unbuckling AJ from his car seat.

AJ: Mommy, what�s �noble?�

Harriet: Well, in this case, I think �Noble� is somebody�s name. But it�s also a word. If someone�s noble, they always try to do the right thing and they think of other people before themselves.

AJ: Well, I�m kind of sort of noble, aren�t I?

� � � � �

Scene 2: Kitchen of the Harriet household. AJ is talking to his dad.

AJ: How often do people get married?

Husband: Well, if they find the right person, usually only once.

AJ: How long do they stay married?

Husband: It depends. But hopefully when they get married, they stay married for the rest of their lives.

AJ: When do they get married?

Husband: Well, when they�re a little older than you. When you�re older, you�ll probably get married someday.

AJ: Are you just kidding?

Husband: Someday you�ll meet a girl you really like and you�ll get married.

AJ: A girl?

Husband: Yes.

AJ: I want to marry a boy. I don�t like girls!

� � � � �

Scene 3: AJ�s bedroom after lights out.

Harriet: Goodnight, sweetheart. That was quite a hug tonight.

AJ: Do you know why I hugged you so big?

Harriet: Why?

AJ: Because you were mad at me earlier.

Harriet: Oh, sweetie, you know I love you even when I get mad at some of the things you do.

AJ: I know. I just wanted to hug you big.

[Second entry today. Click back for maternal self doubt.]

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>