spynotes ::
  July 13, 2005
Interrogatory

Hurrah! The proposal is done, as is the abstract (although why, exactly, one needs to submit a 100 word abstract of a 250 word proposal is still something of a mystery). I was pleased to know that this stuff does get easier. This was definitely the fastest I�ve put something like this together that didn�t involve a wholesale repetition of text from a previous proposal. This may not be my best work, but neither is it my worst. And most importantly, it wasn�t a soul-sucking experience. In any case, accomplishment=good.

And speaking of soul-sucking, my reward for getting my work done in a timely fashion? A trip to the DMV. Yeah, I�m about as excited about that as you would think. But my license will expire on my birthday, which is while we�ll be on vacation, and thanks to my little brush with the law a few months ago (my first and only speeding ticket), I have to take the written driver�s test instead of renewing my license by mail as I�ve done before. The DMV is a serious hike from here and this will probably take up a good chunk of my morning. On the plus side, most of the time will be spent driving through the countryside rather than standing in line, as at the downtown Chicago facility I used to frequent. The last time I went in person to get my license it was because I had changed my name after getting married. I was in the biggest line you�ve ever seen at the Secretary of State�s office when I realized that since I was pregnant, I could probably jump to the front. Although I was about 6 months along, I wasn�t showing that much, particularly in my winter coat, so I was convinced everyone else would think I was faking it. There was, in fact, some grumbling when they took me first but, I suppose in the interest of avoiding a riot, one of the two guys running the ID machines jumped up on the counter and shouted, �Listen up! You will all get a chance. This lady is pregnant so she gets to go first and I don�t want to hear no complaining or I�ll put you at the end of the line. Got that?� Hmm. I could have used him in high school.

I�m trying to decide whether to take AJ along for the ride. Maybe I�ll let him take the test for me. I think there�s a good chance he�d pass it. His knowledge of arcane topics never ceases to amaze me. His favorite thing to do besides read is to play what he calls �the question game,� which means that he wants us to quiz him to see what he knows. Sometimes he�ll specify the topic -- his favorites are �state capitals,� �space� and �manners.� It is becoming more and more difficult to come up with questions that don�t yield a scoffing, �That�s too easy!� This week we discovered Brainquest, a collection of questions and answers, at our local library. This has taken a lot of the pressure off the game (because AJ asks to play �the question game� 10 times a day and it�s hard to think of that many questions) and has fueled his enthusiasm for knowledge still further. The only copy in the library was marked for third graders, but with the exception of the more complicated math and spelling questions, he does amazingly well. Time to start worrying about the school thing again.

* * * * *

Scene: AJ�s bedroom at night.

Harriet: (Tucking AJ into bed). Good night, sweetheart.
AJ: One more huggie?
Harriet: One more hug. (An enormous, boa-constrictor-like hug follows). Now AJ, I don�t want you getting out of bed again. You�ve been doing that too much lately, so if you do it tonight, I�m going to have to punish you tomorrow.
AJ: What�s going to happen?
Harriet: I�m not sure yet. I�ll have to talk it over with Daddy. But don�t find out, okay?
AJ: But what if I miss you?
Harriet: You�ll just have to miss me a little. But I�ll be right downstairs and you�ll see me as soon as you wake up.
AJ: But I don�t like to miss you.
Harriet: I don�t like to miss you either, but it's time for you to be by yourself and go to sleep. I�ll see you in the morning.
AJ: Okay. Mommy?
Harriet: What is it, AJ?
AJ: Maybe if I dream about you I won�t miss you.

[Second entry today. Click back for baseball, baseball, oh, and more baseball.]

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>