spynotes ::
  September 10, 2005
Under the sea

I just concluded my fifth run of the week (My last swim of the season was Sunday; I started running Monday; I took Thursday off) and it�s hard not to notice how much better shape I�m in now than I was at this time last year.

I started running at the same time last year, also after a summer of swimming and water aerobics and biking 5-6 days a week. But the big difference is that at this time last year, I was at least 30 pounds heavier than I am right now. Also, instead of swimming for distance like I did last summer, this year I swam for time. I did fewer laps a day, but I swam them a heck of a lot faster and that seemed to make a real difference in my strength.

This morning I ran a mile uphill without stopping (plus a couple of more miles alternating running and walking on either side). To the runners among you, I�m sure this doesn�t sound like much, but for me it�s a big achievement. I�ve always been an excellent sprinter, but I�m really lousy at keeping going for any length of time. I�m not good at pacing myself. And I�m often out of shape. Last fall, it took me a couple of months to be able to do what I did today. And today it wasn�t even that hard. I got to enjoy the fact that the hill, which runs through dense woods, opens up to fields of goldenrod as far as the eye can see. I was able to look around enough to spot the great horned owl camouflaged against a tree. Running�s still not an activity that has me bouncing out of bed in the morning, but at least I don�t hate it as much as I used to.

I am at home in a quiet house at the moment. The boys went to watch the local high school freshmen play football. We took AJ out last night to see his cousin play the role of Sebastian the crab in her school�s production of The Little Mermaid. They�ve been rehearsing all summer and they did a fabulous job. Unfortunately for C., the sound system crapped out right before her big song, �Under the Sea.� The kids stalled nervously for a moment, then C. set her jaw, turned to face the audience, and started belting out the song. The rest of the cast pulled themselves together and managed to pull the song off. But C. saved everything and stole the show. The applause afterwards was thunderous and they made her do an encore before they let her off the stage for the next scene. I was so proud of her. AJ clapped his little hands off before keeling over with exhaustion. He snored all the way home in the car.


0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>