spynotes ::
  October 04, 2005
F my mom

Everyone here in the harriet household is feeling a little under the weather today. In part, it is the literal weather, which is insisting on maintaining an August-like profile, that is making us feel this way. The rest is our annual kick-off of the school-year parade of illnesses. As ailments go, this particular one is relatively minor, except that it�s given me a fearsome earache in my left ear which makes it sound like I�m underwater when I talk. AJ is feeling better today, though, and is exceptionally exuberant. This combination of things has me cringing expectantly every time he comes in the room, like a particularly pathetic hangover victim. There are many adjectives to describe four-year-olds, but �quiet� is not one you come across very often.

Nevertheless, AJ has been engaging in more quiet activities lately. He�s suddenly become very excited about art projects, something he�d always done when asked, but had never been particularly interested in initiating. We have been getting more and more elaborate pictures and stories to go with them. But my favorite, is still this one:


Harriet: AJ, I love this picture. It�s beautiful!
AJ: It�s a picture of you.
Harriet: I can tell.
AJ: I made it pink because pink is a girl�s color.
Harriet: (who always cringes at such gender biases, but tends to ignore them) Pink is a nice color.
AJ: And you�re thinking about hearts.
Harriet: I must be thinking about you, then. Because I love you so much.
AJ: No. You�re just thinking about hearts.

Sentimentality shut down by a four year old.

By the way, the caption, in case it's unclear, reads "F My Mom," which stands for "For My Mom." At least that's what AJ says NOW.

And for anyone who�s wondered what I look like, you'll know me when you see me because I'm pink and smiley and followed by an entourage of hearts.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>