spynotes ::
  November 08, 2005
All signs point to no

An excerpt from Peter Gabriel�s soundtrack to The Last Temptation of Christ just worked its way up the rotation in iTunes and I am suddenly transported back to Philadelphia in the summer of 1988. On a 98 degree day, I walked alone from my West Philly apartment to the movie theater in Society Hill to try to see the controversial film. The show was sold out despite (or perhaps because of) the protesters out front. So I turned and headed home just as the skies opened and the rain, the first in weeks, began to fall. I turned my head to the sky and skipped down the street like a child until I was stopped by a stunning elderly woman with white hair and piercing blue eyes. �You remind me of myself as a girl,� she said. �My mother would always make me to wear a hat and coat when it was wet, but as soon as she was out of sight, I would throw them off and run. I love the rain.� We locked eyes, two kindred spirits on the street corner. �Me too.� And then she slowly disappeared into a bus. I stood for a moment before returning to my westward skip, my sodden sandals slap, slap, slapping on the pavement.

Thus inspired by iTunes, I will join in this meme I swiped from Jen. Think Magic 8 Ball, except with iTunes on shuffle.

1. What do you think of me, oh mystical iTunes?

"I miss you most of all when autumn leaves begin to fall"
(�Autumn leaves� � Edith Piaf)

2. Will I have a happy life?

"No, I will box your ears and take your tears and leave you here stripped bare."
(�The Bachelor and the Bride� � The Decemberists)

A simple no will do. There�s no need to get nasty.

3. What do my friends really think of me?

"Would God I had died for thee!"
(�When David Heard that Absalom was Slain� � Thomas Weelkes, sung by The Sixteen)

Aren�t we dramatic today?

4. What does my S.O. think of me?

Hmm. No lyrics. It�s George Winston playing �Charlie Brown and His All-Stars� from the CD of Peanuts music I just made for AJ. Perhaps my husband thinks I�m a child? Or a puppy? Maybe I should try one more time.

Hmm. More instrumental George Winston � �Stars.� Perhaps my husband�s feelings for me go beyond words? Okay, you can stop gagging now. I think I�ll quit while I�m, er, ahead.


5. Do people secretly lust after me?

[Sound of chickens clucking, followed by a crying baby]
(�Cooped� - Rasputina)

I guess that�s a big fat NO. Couldn�t you at least PRETEND you think I�m sexy? Sheesh.

6. How can I make myself happy?

�Speak to me baby in the middle of the night. Pull your mouth close to mine.�
(�The Sky Is Broken� � Moby)

7. What should I do with my life?

�She blinded me with science and hit me with technology.�
(�She Blinded Me with Science� � Thomas Dolby)

It would appear that I have chosen the wrong academic path.

8. Why must life be so full of pain?

�I�m fighting things I cannot see. I think it�s called my destiny��
(�Marlene on the Wall� � Suzanne Vega)

9. How can I maximize my pleasure during sex?

�You give me fever when you kiss me, fever when you hold me tight, fever in the morning, fever all through the night.�

(�Fever� � Peggy Lee)

10. Can you give me some advice?

�Pero si un atardecer
Las gardenias de mi amor se mueren
Es porque han adivinado
Que tu amor me ha traicionado
Porque existe otro querer.�

(�Dos Gardenias� � from Buena Vista Social Club)

Um, I don�t speak Spanish.

11. What do you think happiness is?

�Ha ha ha ha�
(�Don�t You Just Know it?� � Huey �Piano� Smith and the Clowns)

I couldn�t agree with you more.

12. Do you have any advice to give over the next few hours/days?

�Stop! In the name of love�

(�Stop! In the name of love� - Diana Ross and the Supremes)


13. Will I die happy?

Another instrumental (�Yet another in a long series of Yellow Cars� � Patricia Barber)

Let�s try again.

�Well, I�m taking a piece of the blue sky and revolving.�
(�Never seeing the ground for the sky� � Sloan)

Bonus #14: if the next song is about what's going to happen, what is it?

�And I will pray the Father and he shall give another comforter�

(�If Ye Love Me� � Thomas Tallis/performed by the Sixteen).

I suppose that means it�s going to be cold tonight. I�d better go look for that extra comforter.


0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>