spynotes ::
  February 13, 2004
O, Pioneers!

I�ve been in a redecorating mood again. It happens every February after I get tired at looking at the insides of my walls. But since I�m lazy as hell, I opted for a new layout over an interior paint job. Now if only I could come up with some new banner ideas. I used to work in marketing. You�d think I�d be better at this. If anyone has any suggestions, I�m all ears.

After we got home from play class this morning, AJ spent a good half an hour playing a game he calls, �Shut you in the door� with his dad. It�s not as violent as it sounds. The game involves one or the other of them going into my husband�s office. The other one shuts the door. Then the one on the inside starts yelling, �Help! I�m trapped! Let me out!� AJ thinks this is hilarious and he�ll fall down laughing before the door is opened once again. While they were playing, I got to escape to my office for a few minutes to reorganize some files. It was nice to have a few minutes of quiet. AJ�s been on one of his why-talk-when-you-can-yell jags today. He was running around to all the little girls in play class and getting within a foot of their faces and yelling, �HI!!� at top volume. Most responded in kind, making for a loud and boisterous morning. But one teeny blond girl named stood there and stared at him in stony silence. She was pretty hilarious. And her name was Clancy, which somehow suited her. A nice change from the plethora of Madisons and Haleys. She had kind of a determined-girl-heroine-in-a-southern-novel way about her.

I seem to be all about excessive hyphenation today.

I�ve just received a mammoth box of PR materials from my alma mater which I need to slog through. I�ve agreed to work a local college fair in April and apparently they are extremely on top of things. They even sent a college pennant (jealous, RS536?). It seems overly rah-rah for that particular institution of higher learning. While I was a student there, they put the choice of school mascot to a vote. They had been, for some decades, the unicorns. Everyone agreed that was totally dorky. The vote was overwhelmingly for no mascot at all. I believe the administration was irritated by the apathy the vote suggested and chose their own name for the school teams: the Pioneers. Willa Cather eat your heart out.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>