spynotes ::
  March 04, 2004
Big Brother

I just got an email from my university about a bill to go before the senate sometime in the not so distant future (it already passed the House as HR 3077) that will alter the application of Title VI (Civil Rights). The result could be the loss of academic freedom and is being hotly discussed in the academic arena. Here�s some links to more information. These are not necessarily the best discussions, but they are what I could get my hands on quickly:

From the University of Chicago Maroon

From San Francisco State University

From Campus Watch

From the Martin Kramer, Ph.D.

Another from Campus Watch

I find this development alarming but not surprising. The middle eastern studies program at my university is holding a panel discussion about this issue tomorrow night which I really wish I could attend. I guess I�ll have to content myself with drafting letters to my senators. If you feel similarly, please do the same.

This in combination with Bush�s new campaign ads is really making me embarrassed to be an American.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>