spynotes ::
  March 21, 2004
Domo arigato

Our spring weather was short-lived. The wind that kicked in yesterday afternoon picked up steadily throughout the day and by bedtime was a roaring gale. We woke this morning to snow flurries, but they quickly burned off leaving us with another crystal clear day, albeit about 30 degrees colder than yesterday. But if I had to choose warmth or sunshine, I�m happy with the sun.

AJ is taking a rare morning nap, having awoken at the unconscionable hour of 5 a.m. Fortunately, were were able to coax him back to bed, if not to sleep, for another hour or so, granting me a little more sleep and some very strange and anxious dreams. The only thing I can remember is that I was staying in a hotel with friends but in my own room for several days. Each day we switched rooms. Right before I woke up I realized as I was returning late that I had not only forgotten my room key but had forgotten which room I was staying in. I couldn�t even remember what floor I was on.

Even rarer than a morning nap for AJ is a solo sojourn for me. I�m meeting my friend H and her mom, who�s in town visiting, for a trek to one of my favorite clothing stores and a sushi lunch. H�s mother is a well-known children�s book writer and the author of several of AJ�s most favorite books. AJ is most excited that I am going to see her in person. He doesn�t remember, but he actually met her himself on the last one of these shopping/sushi expeditions. At that point he had only recently started walking and he spent most of the time in the store running between our fitting rooms and trying to hide in the racks of clothing. Given that experience, I have elected to leave him home this time, in order to do some actual shopping. I�ll also be stopping at Mitsuwa, the Japanese supermarket in order to stock up on all things Japanese, including the hottest wasabi on the planet.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>