spynotes ::
  March 21, 2004
One fish, two fish

I had a wonderful morning with my friend H and her mom and came home with the first new clothes I�ve had in some time. I am feeling quite glamorous in my new wardrobe and am feeling the urge to clean up the joint a bit in order to accommodate my new, more fabulous self.

After our purchases were made, we went to Mitsuwa, a nearby Japanese supermarket with excellent cafeteria-style sushi, edamame and green tea. Afterwards I picked up some of the harder-to-find Asian items I like to cook with � Asian eggplant, lemongrass, cheap shiitake mushrooms, my favorite tamari, and a huge packet of soba noodles. I also checked out the selection of Pocky, and ended up sampling the coconut Pocky which, I must say, is outstanding. I couldn�t quite bring myself to buy the Men�s Pocky, although I�m always a big fan of dark chocolate. I was afraid I might find it to be a box of cigars, or something similarly alienating. (And to whomever mentioned Pocky in a diary recently, I apologize for not linking to you, but I can't seem to locate the entry.) I also spent some time ogling the fresh fish. Mitsuwa has the biggest fish counter I�ve ever seen and they carry many things rarely seen in the markets near us, including mackerel, fresh sardines, and many different varieties of things with tentacles.

While the shopping area itself is in an unpleasant zone of strip malls and industrial parks, the drive there is mostly rural. I got custody of the new car, which feels so small and energetic after the mom-mobile that I frequently found myself going at a rather alarming rate of speed. I also had fun blasting music I wanted to listen to instead of the usual AJ playlist. All in all, I got a nice taste of freedom. AJ and my husband are still at my mother-in-law�s, so I have come home to a quiet house and the prospect of getting some work done for an hour or two.

[2nd entry today � you can click back if you want, but it�s kind of boring.]

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>