spynotes ::
  August 20, 2004
Split ends

Today has been filled with all those little errands you need to do before you go away. Stopping the mail. Picking up extra food and litter for the cats. Returning library books. And this afternoon I�m finally getting my hair cut.

Making this hair appointment has been fraught with drama. T. has been cutting my hair for twelve years. She�s absolutely fantastic. When I first started going to her, she was just out of school. She was cheap and I was poor: it was a match made in heaven. In the beginning I�d let her do whatever cut she wanted to practice in exchange for a lower fee. Gradually, as both of our circumstances improved, I paid a little more and got more input. But these days T. cuts hair for a lot of models, her fee has tripled, and it�s a lot harder to get an appointment on short notice, which is always how I do such things. Moreover, it takes a half day, because I live in the back of beyond, she�s in the city, and an appointment with her is usually an hour and a half at least.

I�ve finally come to terms with the fact that despite the good parts, our relationship may not be working out. If we�re not actually breaking up, I think we need to start seeing other people. Like any separation, this one has taken a fair amount of soul searching. But after some thought, I made an appointment with someone local for this afternoon. I feel like I�m having an affair. Of course if new stylist makes me feel more glamorous, then I�m sure I�ll get over it.

I�m nervous about my first date with J. this afternoon. I should probably get off the computer and go figure out what I�m going to wear. It always helps to make a good first impression.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>