spynotes ::
  December 12, 2004
Many happy returns

I went for a run this morning for the first time in at least two weeks � I�ve been riding the stationary bike and walking instead, although not nearly regularly enough. The lack of running has been largely the result of rainy and wintry weather. I was expecting the worst this morning, but it was surprisingly easy to pick it up again. The first few times I tried to run, I would run a few yards and then walk, with far more walking than running. As I progressed, I�d start making little rules for myself. First I only had to run downhill. Then I could skip the uphills if I wanted to. Now after my initial warm-up walk (a habit I�ve adopted after reading an article on stretching-related injuries a month or two ago), I run almost everything. There is, however, one killer hill, the one that goes past the pool, that still gives me trouble. It is my great white whale. This hill is so steep that I get winded just walking up it. It�s so steep that I have a great deal of trouble walking down it in heels (which, fortunately, I am not called upon to do very often). Once I can run up that hill and keep going, then I know it�s time to extend my distance.

Of course, one of the reasons the running is easier is that I�m a lot lighter. As of today, I now weigh as much standing on the scale while holding AJ as I did when standing there alone when I started this whole regime in early September. It takes a while for my brain to catch up with the revised body image, so the significance of the change has been lost on me. But when I thought about the idea of going running while carrying AJ on my back, well, no wonder it�s easier now.

I spent the rest of the morning playing about a million games with AJ while trying (and failing) to simultaneously read the Sunday paper. After lunch, we piled in the car and headed to my brother and sister-in-law�s for a birthday party for my middle niece, who turned 14. The three girls were energetic and squabbling as only teenaged girls can. They want so hard to be taken seriously, but sometimes it is difficult not to laugh at them.
C., the birthday girl, has suddenly entered the sulky teen phase. This was the first year she has not read all of her cards out loud with dramatic flair. When she knew all eyes were on her, she scarcely smiled. Of the three, she�s the one most likely to go goth. The oldest is well on her way to becoming class valedictorian. The youngest seems headed for drama club.

I�ve known these girls for half their lives. It�s the first time I�ve really had the chance to watch children turn into teenagers when I was not going through that particular change myself. You see them trying on identities as if they�re just another element of their vast and varied wardrobes. The oldest and youngest seem the most grounded in themselves and connected to their families. C. is the rebellious one. She seems to want to break out, but like she�s not sure where she wants to go.

Happy birthday, C. I�m sure you�ll figure it all out.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>