spynotes ::
  December 13, 2004
Boys will be boys

All interactions with AJ�s preschool were quite amusing this morning. When I went to drop him off, three other little boys in his class were there. The three of them started shoving each other amicably in the hallway as we waited for their classroom door to open. They decided to play a game where one of them would try to look through the narrow window in the door to their classroom while the other three would try to push him out of the way. A little girl in their class came in and watched while occasionally polishing her already gleaming red patent leather shoes on the carpet. As the tumbling boys header her way, she delicately sidestepped them and adjusted her auburn curls with one hand. The gender divide begins early.

Picking up AJ was even better. His teacher pulled me aside to tell me that AJ had blown her away (this is becoming a regular occurrence. I�m wondering when she�ll stop being surprised). Apparently at the end of class, the kids had gone around the room telling everyone what they�d asked Santa to bring them for Christmas (I certainly hope there are no non-Christian students in his class. We purposely chose a non-church-affiliated preschool to avoid the religious overload, but the population is still homogeneous enough, I guess, that other religious can essentially be ignored. They did color a menorah, but when I asked AJ what it was he said �it�s candles some people light at Christmastime.� Hmm.). When it was AJ�s turn, he was mumbling (it seems to be a phase he�s going through) and his teacher couldn�t understand him. After asking him to repeat himself several times, apparently AJ got frustrated and shouted, I SAID a C-A-R! You know, a CAR. I can only imagine the look of utter disdain on his face.

After collecting AJ's belongings, we headed to the car. As I was buckling him into his car seat, I got a tantalizing bit of information: �Mommy, the kids who didn�t spit on anything got stickers today.� I can�t imagine what that was about, but I did notice that AJ didn�t seem to be in possession of any stickers.

[There was a late entry yesterday. Click back if you missed it.]

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>