spynotes ::
  February 25, 2005
land of cheese

Top 10 things I like about Wisconsin

1. Frozen custard
2. Parking ramps (it sounds so much more adventurous than a garage)
3. Ice fishing huts on Lake Mendota
4. The Castle in the middle of the U.W. campus
5. The big yellow moon that looked like it was made of havarti
6. My friend M. (he should actually be higher up, but I don�t want to give him a swollen head).
7. Parking is less than a buck an hour
8. Almost no traffic.
9. Vegetarian restaurants with cream of wild mushroom soup
10. Tommy Bartlett signage


The paper went fairly well. After all my complaining about the last minute edits, they proved to be fairly small and easy to accomplish. I ended up with a new introduction, which worked better. It wasn�t my best presentation ever--I felt like I was tripping over my words a little more than I would have liked -- but it was perfectly respectable. The Highly Respected Expert (HRE) and keynote speaker, whom I�ll refer to as Dr. T., laughed at all my jokes and didn�t ask questions (he�s known for slicing people to ribbons with a smile with his carefully worded questions � tenured faculty quake in their boots when he shows up to one of their readings; but he�s generally much kinder to students). I wasn't happy with the way I handled the questions, mainly because they surprised me by asking more about my dissertation than the paper topic, but still, I think I did a creditable job. There�s still more work to be done on this topic and I�d like to figure out something to do with it later, but I think I�ll put it aside for a little while and get back to my class and the diss.

AJ woke me up this morning at 4 after having wet the bed for the first time in a long while. Afterwards, I couldn�t fall back to sleep, so I was forced to fortify myself with superhuman quantities of caffeine. Nevertheless, I kind of enjoyed the drive up there. I played a truly random assortment of CDs (Sloan, Mark Eitzel, Act I of Monteverdi�s Orfeo, No Doubt and Piazolla tangos) . I�m kind of looking forward to doing it again tomorrow.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>