spynotes ::
  May 16, 2005
alma mater

Here is one reason why I love my students. When, in a routine homework assignment meant to get them thinking about a piece by American composer Charles Ives, one of my students attempted to define what exactly made music American and came to the conclusion that Ives was a libertarian because of the way he clashed his tunes together in a complex way that clearly referenced American history but was not especially accessible to the average listener. Copland, however, was a democrat because he used his borrowed tunes in a nostalgic way with an aim toward creating deep feelings in the listener about America in an easily accessible way. What an interesting way to characterize the difference. I love having students who think about things. It makes my job so much more fun.

I must say, I�m pretty intrigued to see what they�re going to say about their next concert review assignment, due a week from today, on a new music concert. They are thoughtful AND a little freaked out by atonality, or even hints at atonality in heavily chromatic passages. That combination should make for some interesting responses. They were very quiet in class today. Partly, I think, because the music is getting even less familiar. And partly because I don�t think I articulated my thoughts very clearly. I tried to do a little too much and about halfway through the class, I realized what I should have done, but it was kind of too late. I got the important stuff in, though. Hopefully I�ll be able to review key points next time. I wish I had conquered my nerves. I was definitely squirrely today.

The campus has attained that end-of-spring-term demeanor of exhaustion and hope. The annual student art installations are up. Many have not adequately survived the last couple of days of windiness. But one installation by the library � a vast field of multicolored pinwheels � benefited greatly from the weather, and made me smile. The main quad is littered with little birdhouse-like constructions � spirit houses, their affixed labels say � that look like shrines to the personality of the artist. The tension level in the library has risen palpably. The flagstone walkways are covered with chalk, advising passers-by to attend this or that year-end event. I�m enjoying the small changes that mark the passage of time that the stone and ivied campus belies. I haven�t been around this for a few years. I�d forgotten what it was like.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>