spynotes ::
  October 27, 2005
Out of the park

I guess the White Sox read my entry yesterday. It was a nailbiter, but there was much celebrating here in the harriet household last night. We almost woke up AJ to let him share in the fun, but thought better of it. Still, our phone was ringing off the hook into the wee hours of the morning, with well-wishers calling in from all over the globe. Everyone who knows my husband knows he�s a huge Sox fan and wanted to share the joy.

My husband made one phone call himself, to his brother (the Sox fan, not the Cubs fan, although he did confess to wishing he could taunt some Cubs fans today). �He�s the reason I really love the Sox. I wanted to talk to him first.�

AJ and my husband went out this morning in search of official Sox World Series garments in child sizes, but to no avail. We�ll try again later this week. Both of the boys are decked out in their Sox finest. I, however, am lacking in that particular area of my wardrobe. The best I could do was a black shirt.

AJ has been drawing pictures of the final scoreboard. He is, unfortunately, sleeping with them right now, otherwise I�d take a picture of one and post it here. In my favorite, it says on the left �WS� (�That�s for the White Sox,� AJ says) over a large number one. Below it AJ has written �Yay!� On the right, he has printed �A� (for the Astros, presumably) over a big number 0, below which AJ has written �Rats!� And there is another big �WS� at the bottom of the page. �That�s for World Series.� AJ has taken to solving his spelling quandaries with cryptic abbreviations, of late.

Nobody has been getting much work done today. �Is it a holiday?� asked AJ, when he realized that it was after nine a.m. and we were all still in our pajamas. It feels like a holiday. One that comes around every 88 years or so. The last time the Sox won a world series, my grandmother wasn�t even born yet. My great-grandmother had just turned 13. Neither of them, however, was a baseball fan, at least as far as I know.

A few months ago I wouldn�t have cast myself as a particular baseball fan either, but I�ve found this season riveting. I get easily bored with the egos and the one-sidedness of the teams headed by hotshot sluggers. This year was more interesting, more strategic, more of a real team sport. You never knew who was going to break out to be the star of the game. It was easier to see why the game had attained its place in the mythology of American culture.

What? Is there something else I should have addressed today? You say Harriet Miers withdrew her nomination? And Rosa Parks died a few days ago and you think I should have mentioned it? Well, I apologize. But I�d like to remind you that THE WHITE SOX JUST WON THE WORLD SERIES.

Thank you, and good night.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>